EUROCONTROL handled 10.6 million flights in 2017; 4.4% increase vs 2016

EUROCONTROL handled 10.6 million flights in 2017; 4.4% increase vs 2016

Brussels, Belgium, 04-Jan-2018 — /EuropaWire/ — In 2017 EUROCONTROL, which has been nominated as Network Manager by the European Commission, handled 10.6 million flights, an increase of 4.4% over 2016, which was also a record year. This is equivalent to over 29,000 flights per day with a peak figure of 35,937 on Friday 30 June.

The Network Manager works with its partners across Europe to make sure that the traffic can flow as safely and efficiently as possible. Joe Sultana, the Director NM, commented:

“2017 was an exceptionally busy year with some significant challenges such as weather and industrial action. The Network Manager’s role is to ensure the levels of traffic demand can be accommodated safely, efficiently and with the minimum impact on the environment. Meanwhile, we have also been working with the European Commission to deliver the organisational changes requested for our renomination.”

The Network Manager (part of EUROCONTROL and entrusted by the European Commission to perform the Network Functions of the Single European Sky) manages air traffic management network functions (airspace design, network planning, flow management) as well as scarce resources (transponder code allocations, radio frequencies). It works in collaboration with airspace users, as well as the airports and air navigation service providers in EUROCONTROL’s 41 Member States and two Comprehensive Agreement States.

EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system that fully copes with the growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment. EUROCONTROL has 41 Member States: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. EUROCONTROL has Comprehensive Agreements with the Kingdom of Morocco and the State of Israel.

For further information, please contact:

Kyla Evans,
For more information via the website:



Follow EuropaWire on Google News

Comments are closed.