Three academics at the University of Dundee among RSE Royal Medalists and Prize Winners

29-3-2013 — / — Three academics at the University of Dundee have been honoured among the Royal Medallists and Prize Winners for 2013 announced by the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor Michael Ferguson, Dean of Research in the College of Life Sciences, has been awarded the Royal Medal, the pinnacle of the awards made by the RSE.

“It is a huge honour to be awarded one of the Royal Medals of the Royal Society of Edinburgh,” said Professor Ferguson. “Science is one of the most communal of enterprises and this award really reflects the excellence of the teams of colleagues it is my great privilege to work with at the University of Dundee, and our collaborators.”

Professor Peter Davies, of the School of Engineering, Physics and Mathematics, was awarded the Lord Kelvin Medal for his work in fluid mechanics.

Professor Caroline Wilkinson, of the Centre for Anatomy and Human Identification, was given the Senior Prize in the RSE Public Engagement Prizes, supported by the James Weir Foundation.

The RSE President, Sir John Arbuthnott, in announcing the awards commented, “One of the greatest privileges of the role of being President of the Society is the opportunity to meet many of the most talented people working in Scotland today.

“Through these awards we are recognising outstanding individuals at points in their lives from those showing great potential at early stages of their career to those who have reached the pinnacle of their discipline and are regarded as such on an international basis. The process of deciding upon these awards provides an opportunity for the RSE and hopefully the research community at home and internationally to learn more about the outstanding and innovative work that is being undertaken in Scotland.”

He continued, “Since the inception of the RSE our core founding principle has been the `Advancement of Learning and Useful Knowledge’. This programme of awards remains absolutely true to this principle.

“The pinnacle of the RSE awards is our Royal Medals and I am delighted to be able to announce that the recipients this year will be, Sir John Cadogan, Professor Michael Ferguson and Sir Ian Wood. All three have made outstanding contributions, Sir John and Professor Ferguson in scientific excellence and Sir Ian for his role in building the Wood Group to be a multi-billion pound international enterprise, as well as his work in broader public life.

“We are also delighted to award the James Clerk Maxwell Award in conjunction with the IEEE. This year’s winners are, Professors Richard Muller and Richard White of the University of California, for pioneering innovation in micro-electro-mechanical systems technology.

“Major RSE prizes will also be awarded as follows: the Lord Kelvin Medal to Professor Peter Davies for his work in Fluid Mechanics; the Sir James Black Medal to both, Professor Christopher Haslett for his research into inflammation and for establishing the Queen’s Medical Research Institute, and to Professor Andrew Whiten for his research into primates and animal behaviour; and the Sir Walter Scott Medal to Professor David Hewitt for his work on The Edinburgh Edition of the Waverley Novels.”

Sir John concluded, “I wish to extend my congratulations to all of the 2013 Award Winners. Each of them is an inspiration.”

Note to Editors: A full list of the 2013 is listed below. A note of the citation for each awardee follows at the end of the press release.

Royal Medals
Sir John Cadogan CBE FRS FRSE, President of the Learned Society of Wales.
Professor Michael Ferguson CBE FRS FRSE FMedSci, University of Dundee
Sir Ian Wood CBE FRSE, Chairman, John Wood Group PLC

RSE / IEEE Wolfson James Clerk Maxwell Medal
Professor Richard Muller, University of California
Professor Richard White, University of California

RSE Medals
Lord Kelvin Medal: Professor Peter Davies FRSE, University of Dundee
Sir James Black Medal: Professor Christopher Haslett OBE FRSE FMedSci, University of Edinburgh; and, Professor Andrew Whiten FRSE FBA, University of St. Andrew’s
Sir Walter Scott Medal: Professor David Hewitt FRSE, University of Aberdeen

Early Career Prize Winners
Patrick Neill Medal: Dr Marc Dweck, University of Edinburgh
Makdougall Brisbane Medal: Dr Aidan Robson, University of Glasgow
Thomas Reid Medal: Dr Gordon Pentland, University of Edinburgh
Henry Duncan Medal: Mr Neil McLennan, Aberdeen City Council

RSE Public Engagement Prizes, supported by the James Weir Foundation
Senior Prize: Professor Caroline Wilkinson, University of Dundee
Innovator’s Prize: Dr Chris Speed, Edinburgh College of Art

RSE Pro-Meritas Medal
Dr Russell Leather, Perth
Mr Angus Shearer, Edinburgh
Dr Alan Walker MBE, University of Edinburgh

For further information please contact Bristow Muldoon, Head of Policy for the RSE on 0131 240 2787 or 07766 915218, or Anne Fraser, Awards Manager on 0131 240 5013


For media enquiries contact:
Roddy Isles
Head. Press Office
University of Dundee
Nethergate, Dundee, DD1 4HN
TEL: 01382 384910
MOBILE: 07800 581902

Follow EuropaWire on Google News

Comments are closed.