NWO to undergo major changes at administrative and organisational levels

THE HAGUE, 16-Dec-2016 — /EuropaWire/ — NWO is currently undergoing major changes. It is acquiring a clearer and more coherent structure at both the administrative and organisational levels. As a result of that it will be better equipped to optimally carry out its core tasks of funding scientific research in the Netherlands, stimulating innovation in research, and managing eight national research institutes both now and in the future.

The current nine divisions will be clustered into four domains with effect from 1 January 2017. With this, the current divisional boards will cease to exist and will be replaced by four domain boards. The composition of these boards is now known and is given below.

As the new NWO Act will only become effective from 1 February 2017 onwards then January 2017 will be a transition month and the divisional boards will still formally exist. The chairs of the domain boards can only formally assume their responsibilities with effect from 1 February 2017 because the current NWO Act does not allow membership of both the Governing Board and a divisional board. During the month of January the members of the Executive Board will therefore still be observers in the domain boards. From 1 February 2017 onwards both the domain boards and the members of the Executive Board who are also a chair of a domain board can officially assume their responsibilities.

Overview Science Board

  • Prof. L.J. (Ineke) Braakman (Utrecht University), president, also member of Executive Board
  • Prof. J. (Jan) de Boer (University of Amsterdam)
  • Prof. T.K. (Titia) Sixma (Netherlands Cancer Institute)
  • Prof. A. (Arjen) Doelman (Leiden University)
  • Prof. B.J. (Bas) Zwaan (Wageningen University & Research)
  • Dr P.E. (Peter) Wierenga (former Philips)

Overview Social Sciences and Humanities Board (SSH) 

  • Prof. Wim van den Doel (Leiden University), president, also member of Executive Board
  • Prof. Paula Fikkert (Radboud University)
  • Prof. Anthonie Meijers (Eindhoven University of Technology)
  • Prof. Ale Smidts (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • Prof. Hans de Bruijn (Delft University of Technology)
  • Prof. Chantal Kemner (Utrecht University)
  • Prof. Pearl Dykstra (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • Prof. Ben Peperkamp (VU University Amsterdam)

Overview Applied and Engineering Sciences Board (AES) (personnel merger with Technology Foundation STW in progress.)

  • Prof. J.C. (Jaap) Schouten , president, also member of Executive Board
  • Prof. A.F.W. (Ton) van der Steen (Erasmus MC)
  • Prof. I.W.C.E. (Isabel) Arends (Delft University of Technology), vice-chair
  • A.H. (Anton) Schaaf (Océ Technologies BV)
  • Dr M.J. (Margrethe) Jonkman (FrieslandCampina)

Overview ZonMw Board

  • Prof. J.J.G. (Jeroen) Geurts (VU university medical center), chair, also member of Executive Board
  • Prof. M.M. (Marcel) Levi (AMC, University of Amsterdam), vice-chair
  • Prof. R.T.J.M. (Richard) Janssen (University of Twente), treasurer
  • Prof. B.R. (Bas) Bloem (Radboudumc)
  • J.C. (Jacqueline) Kool (Kool consult)
  • Prof. B.C.J.M. (Bart) Fauser (University Medical Center Utrecht)
  • Prof. C.L. (Christine) Mummery (Leiden Univeristy Medical Center)
  • F.M. (Fawzia) Nasrullah (Youké, Sterke Jeugd)
  • M.I. (Marjolein) Verstappen (Agis Zorgverzekeringen)
  • Drs. M.I. (Marjolein) Verstappen (Agis Zorgverzekeringen)

Source: NWO

Press officers NWO


Comments are closed.