EUROCONTROL Permanent Commission Appoints New Director General

BRUSSELS, 19-Jun-2017 — /EuropaWire/ — The EUROCONTROL Permanent Commission has today appointed Mr Eamonn Brennan as Director General of EUROCONTROL with effect from 1 January 2018.

Mr Eamonn Brennan was nominated by the Government of Ireland and is currently Chief Executive and Board Member of the Irish Aviation Authority.

Mr Brennan will succeed Mr Frank Brenner, who has been Director General of EUROCONTROL since 1 January 2013 and whose term ends on 31 December 2017.

“The 41 EUROCONTROL Member States are delighted to welcome Eamonn Brennan as the Director General of EUROCONTROL as of 1 January 2018,” said Mr Piotr Samson, President of the EUROCONTROL Permanent Commission and Director General of Civil Aviation of Poland. “Eamonn Brennan is a leading figure in European aviation. His leadership experience and understanding of the issues facing air traffic management today will be invaluable in ensuring that EUROCONTROL can respond to the evolving needs of all the Agency’s stakeholders and support the full implementation of the Single European Sky in a pan-European context.”

On his selection as the Director General designate, Eamonn Brennan thanked the Irish State and the Director General Civil Aviation Ireland for his nomination. He thanked the EUROCONTROL Permanent Commission and the Provisional Council for putting their trust in him.

“I hope that I can bring my experience to Europe and EUROCONTROL as a unifying force to manage the safe and progressive development of European aviation over the next 5 years,” said Eamonn.

For further information, please contact:
Kyla Evans,
For more information via the website:

EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system that fully copes with the growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment. EUROCONTROL has 41 Member States: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. EUROCONTROL has Comprehensive Agreements with the Kingdom of Morocco and the State of Israel.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *