EUROCONTROL, EDA define key priorities to implmenting Single European Sky in the military aviation sector

Paris, 20-6-2013 — / — EUROCONTROL and the European Defence Agency (EDA) have today strengthened in front of the aerospace & military community their ongoing relationship, defining a joint list of key priorities for the implementation of the Single European Sky in the military aviation sector. Areas of action include remotely piloted aircraft systems, coordination of SESAR deployment and satellite telecommunications.

The overall aim of the agreement, which was signed today at the Paris Air Show Le Bourget by Mr Frank Brenner, Director General of EUROCONTROL and Mme Claude France Arnould, Chief Executive of EDA is to ensure improved coordination and cooperation between civil and military air traffic resulting in the construction of a Single Sky in Europe for both military and civil air transport.

Under the terms of the arrangement, the two Agencies will cooperate closely in the following areas:

  • Support to Single European Sky implementation, on operational aspects, (training, certification, development of an Advanced Flexible Use of Airspace Concept, considering ground ATM and airborne side, etc.);
  • Military coordination in SESAR Deployment;
  • Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS).

This cooperation may also extend to radiofrequency spectrum management, satellite-based applications and research and technology aspects.

“As a civil-military organisation, EUROCONTROL is fully committed through this new promising collaboration to increasing our collaboration with EDA to help the military community to be fully integrated in the Single European Sky. These arrangements also set up an optimum environment for the implementation of SESAR technology”, declared Frank Brenner, Director General of EUROCONTROL;

“This agreement will bring together the expertise of EUROCONTROL in civil military ATM coordination and EDA’s in developing and improving military capabilities. We share the common goal to support our respective Member States’ Ministries of Defence and to enable their air forces to keep their combat readiness while training and operating in a reshaped environment”, said Claude-France Arnould, Chief Executive of the European Defence Agency.

The two Agencies have been working together since 2008 and have, in particular been focusing on supporting their respective Member States on relevant military matters regarding Single European Sky implementation, including its technological pillar SESAR.

More information

Eric Platteau, Head of Media & Communication
Tel +32 2 504 28 23
Mobile +32 476 985 557
Follow us on Twitter: @EUDefenceAgency

Kyla Evans, Head of Corporate Communications
Tel: +32 498 940 290
Follow us on Twitter@eurocontrol


European Defence Agency The European Defence Agency works to foster European defence cooperation, saving money and increasing capabilities, because Europe is stronger together. As an agency of the Council of the European Union, EDA combines ministerial-level political will with technical expertise and input from all stakeholders. EDA is currently working on a host of cooperative projects, from modular field hospitals to cyber-defence to air-to-air refuelling. In every case, the aim is to save money and increase capabilities, in support of Member States. EUROCONTROL EUROCONTROL, the European Organisation for the Safety of Air Navigation, has as its primary objective to develop a seamless, pan-European air traffic management (ATM) system that fully copes with the growth in air traffic, while maintaining a high level of safety, reducing costs and respecting the environment. EUROCONTROL has 39 Member States: Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. On 5 December 2012, the 40th Member State, Georgia, signed the Protocol of Accession to the Intergovernmental Organisation, EUROCONTROL.


Comments are closed.