Colin Smith to succeed Alan Begg as board director at NV Bekaert SA

The Board of Directors of NV Bekaert SA is proud to announce the nomination of Mr Colin Smith for appointment by the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of 9 May 2018. He will replace Mr Alan Begg whose term of office will expire and who is not seeking re-election.

Kortrijk, Belgium, 02-Mar-2018 — /EuropaWire/ — During a career spanning more than 40 years with Rolls Royce, Colin P. Smith has progressed up the career ladder to become a world-class authority in aerospace Engineering and Technology. He started with Rolls Royce in 1974 as undergraduate apprentice and took on many consecutive Engineering and Technology functions of increasingly broader scope and responsibility. He was appointed Director of Research and Technology in 2004 and Director of Engineering and Technology in 2005, before he became Group President of Rolls Royce in 2016. Mr Smith also built a portfolio of non-executive and advisory roles. Amongst others, he was a Member of the Rolls Royce Power Systems Supervisory Board in Germany and is Chairman of the Aerospace Growth Partnership Board, a strategic partnership between government and industry to secure the future of the UK aerospace industry.

Colin Smith graduated with a Mechanical Engineering Honours Degree from the University of Southampton, UK. He was awarded Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2012. Mr Smith is also Honorary Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society (HonFRAeS), Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (FIMechE), Fellow of the Royal Society Frs and a Member of the UK Prime Minister’s Council for Science and Technology.

Colin Smith will, once appointed as Director, be independent in accordance with the criteria of the Belgian Companies Code and the Belgian Corporate Governance Code.

Upon approval of the proposed appointment of Mr Colin Smith and the re-appointment of Mr Matthew Taylor and Ms Mei Ye by the General Meeting of Shareholders, the Board of Directors of Bekaert will as of 9 May 2018 be composed of the members listed in the table below. Their professional profiles cover different areas of expertise, such as law, business, industrial operations, banking & investment banking, marketing & sales, technology & engineering, HR and consultancy.

Mr Bert De Graeve, Chairman
Mr Matthew Taylor, CEO (1)
Ms Celia Frances Baxter (2)
Mr Leon Bekaert
Mr Grégory Dalle
Mr Charles de Liedekerke
Mr Christophe Jacobs van Merlen
Mr Hubert Jacobs van Merlen
Mr Maxime Jadot
Ms Pamela Knapp (2)
Ms Martina Merz (2)
Mr.Colin Smith (1) (2)
Ms Emilie van de Walle de Ghelcke
Mr Henri Jean Velge
Ms Mei Ye (1) (2)
(1) Upon (re-)appointment by the General Meeting of Shareholders
(2)Independent Directors

Bekaert ( is a world market and technology leader in steel wire transformation and coating technologies. We pursue to be the preferred supplier for our steel wire products and solutions by continuously delivering superior value to our customers worldwide. Bekaert (Euronext Brussels: BEKB) is a global company with almost 30 000 employees worldwide, headquarters in Belgium and € 4.8 billion in combined revenue.

SOURCE: Bekaert

Press – Investors
Katelijn Bohez
T +32 56 76 66 10


Comments are closed.