Broadcasting Press Guild Awards 2019: Nominations for BPG Radio Programme, Broadcaster and BPG Podcast announced

Broadcasting Press Guild Awards 2019: Nominations for BPG Radio Programme, Broadcaster and BPG Podcast announced

(PRESS RELEASE) HOOK, 21-Feb-2019 — /EuropaWire/ — The radio nominations for the Broadcasting Press Guild (BPG) Awards 2019 have just been announced. The winners will be named at the 45th BPG Awards lunch at Banking Hall in the City on Friday March 15th 2019. The BPG Awards are sponsored by Virgin Media and the event will be attended by the winners, BPG members and leading broadcasting executives.

The Harvey Lee Award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting, the BPG Breakthrough Award and the BPG Chairman’s Prize will be presented as well. The places at the lunch are by invitation only and the winners will be informed in advance.

The nominations for BPG Radio Programme of the Year are:

– Cerys Matthews, BBC Radio 6 Music

– River (Joni Mitchell episode), Soul Music, BBC Radio 4

– Tara and George, presented by Audrey Gillan, BBC Radio 4

The nominations for BPG Radio Broadcaster of the Year are:

– Danny Baker, The Danny Baker Show, BBC Radio 5 Live

– Lauren Laverne, BBC Radio 6 Music; Late Night Woman’s Hour and Desert Island Discs, BBC Radio 4

– Paddy O’Connell, Broadcasting House, BBC Radio 4

The nominees for the BPG Podcast of the Year award are:

– Griefcast with Cariad Lloyd

– Hip Hop Saved My Life with Romesh Ranganathan

– You, Me and the Big C, which was started by BBC presenter Rachel Bland who, along with other presenters, documenting her treatment for breast cancer.

Here is a list of the previous winners of the BPG Radio Broadcaster award: Alistair Cook, Sir Terry Wogan, Jane Garvey, Nick Ferrari, Eddie Mair, James O’Brien, Sue Lawley, Jonathan Ross, Evan Davis, Charlotte Green, Simon Mayo, Sean Rafferty, Kirsty Young, Brian Redhead, Sir Mark Tully, Sandi Toksvig, John Finnemore, Michael Buerk, Susannah Simons and Graham Seed (Nigel Pargetter in The Archers).

The BPG Awards are highly regarded by programme-makers because they are selected independently by TV and radio correspondents, critics and previewers. The awards  are given only for work commissioned or produced in the UK and broadcast in 2018.

SOURCE: Virgin Media


Follow EuropaWire on Google News

Comments are closed.