ABB and Formula E Launch ABB Driver of Progress Award for Most Progressive Driver

ABB and Formula E Launch ABB Driver of Progress Award for Most Progressive Driver

(IN BRIEF) ABB and Formula E have launched a new award, the ABB Driver of Progress, for the driver who gains the most positions during an E-Prix. The driver who can best balance speed, overtaking skill, and energy management will be recognized for their efforts. The new award reflects ABB’s commitment to energy efficiency and sustainability, which is also demonstrated through ABB’s work with the Grimaldi Forum and electric bus projects in the Côte d’Azur. The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is currently underway, with 16 races taking place in 11 global locations.

(PRESS RELEASE) ZURICH, 4-May-2023 — /EuropaWire/ — ABB (SWX: ABBN), a Swedish–Swiss multinational company leader in robotics, power, heavy electrical equipment, and automation, and Formula E have announced the launch of a new award, the ABB Driver of Progress Award. The award will be given to the driver who makes up the most positions during an E-Prix race. The winner will be chosen based on a careful balance of speed, overtaking skill, and energy management. The driver who uses these skills best and gains the most places during the race will be named the ABB Driver of Progress. The positions gained per driver will also be added together over the season to produce an overall winner of the award.

Mastering energy management and maximizing energy efficiency are vital driver skills, particularly when faced with the challenge of progressing through the pack. The same qualities underpin ABB’s commitment to creating a more sustainable future, as seen in the Championship, where ABB Ability™ OPTIMAX® energy management software is helping to deliver more efficient energy use at all E-Prix.

Daniela Lužanin, Head of the ABB Formula E partnership, said: “We are proud to launch this new award ahead of this weekend’s Monaco E-Prix, furthering our partnership with Formula E. At ABB, we are committed to pushing the boundaries of technology to drive sustainable progress off-track. So, it’s fitting for us, as a global technology leader, to reward the drivers making the most progress on-track.”

Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Chief Championship Officer, Formula E, added: “Progressing through the field is not an easy task in Formula E so it’s great that we could work with our partner, ABB, to develop a new way to highlight the drivers who excel in this area. The ABB Driver of Progress Award will recognize the competitor who proves they lead the way when it comes to Formula E’s unique demand for intelligent, efficient and dynamic driving.”

Following the race in Monaco, the series will return to Jakarta for a double-header on the 3rd and 4th of June. The season 9 calendar comprises 16 races in 11 global locations.

ABB is a technology leader in electrification and automation, enabling a more sustainable and resource-efficient future. The company’s solutions connect engineering know-how and software to optimize how things are manufactured, moved, powered and operated. Building on more than 130 years of excellence, ABB’s ~105,000 employees are committed to driving innovations that accelerate industrial transformation.

About Formula E and the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship:
As the world’s first all-electric FIA World Championship and the only sport certified net zero carbon since inception, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship brings dramatic racing to the heart of some of the world’s most iconic cities providing an elite motorsport platform for the world’s leading automotive manufacturers to accelerate electric vehicle innovation.

The Formula E network of teams, manufacturers, partners, broadcasters, and host cities are united by a passion for the sport and belief in its potential to accelerate sustainable human progress and create a better future for people and planet.

For Formula E media enquiries, please contact –

Media Relations
+41 43 317 71 11



Follow EuropaWire on Google News

Comments are closed.